The Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS. The set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children are:

Three prime areas:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Physical development
  • Communications and language

Four specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understand the World
  • Expressive Arts and Designs

Children cover prime areas first before moving onto specific areas as they grow and develop.

As well as being the core document for all professionals working in the foundation years, the EYFS framework gives Mums and Dads confidence that regardless of where they choose for their child’s early education, they can be assured that the same statutory commitments and principles will underpin their child’s learning and development experience.

For more information please visit

Latest from Facebook

Puddleducks Bedford

4 days 9 hours ago

The squirrels and owls children exploring the sand pit and tasting the strawberries that they…

Puddleducks - Wrest Park

8 hours 57 minutes ago

We raised £70 for Sunny Days Charity from our Superheroes and Princesses fancy dress day!…

Puddleducks New Southgate

2 months 2 weeks ago

Look at our fabulous new uniforms!

©2018 PuddleDuck Nurseries. All design & content on this website cannot be used elsewhere | Site by: Qwerty Design